<<< Back to Index
This Month's FMEA Corner >>>

Why do deleted projects remain in the database and project list?

 

 

Watch this video and others like it on ReliaSoft.tv

In Synthesis desktop applications, the recycle bin provides a temporary storage location for deleted projects, and gives you a chance to restore the project to its original location if needed. Projects that have been sent to the recycle bin remain in the database and project list until someone either empties the recycle bin or deletes each individual project from the recycle bin.

Sending Projects to the Recycle Bin

Whenever you delete a project from a database, a confirmation window like the one shown next will appear.

Confirmation window for the Recycle Bin

If you want to move the project to the recycle bin, make sure the Send project to recycle bin check box is selected. If you want to immediately and permanently delete the project clear the check box.

Restoring and Deleting Projects from the Recycle Bin

In a secure database, the options to restore and delete projects from the recycle bin are available only if the user a) is the project owner, b) has the "Delete project" permission or c) has the applicable "manage projects" permission. Remember that once you empty or delete a particular project from the recycle bin, there will be no way to get it back unless you have previously created a backup or restore point.

To restore a project from the recycle bin, select it and choose Project > Management > Recycle Bin > Restore Project.

Restore Project icon

To permanently delete a project in the recycle bin, select it in the recycle bin and choose Project > Management > Recycle Bin > Delete Project.

Delete Project icon

To permanently delete all projects currently in the recycle bin, select the Recycle Bin heading in the project list and choose Project > Management > Recycle Bin > Empty Recycle Bin.

Recycle Bin icon

 
ReliaSoft