<<< Back to Index
This Month's FMEA Corner >>>

What happened to the 'Save' button?

 

 

Watch this video and others like it on ReliaSoft.tv

With integration into the Synthesis Platform, many of ReliaSoft's software tools have transitioned from a standalone document format (which required you to save changes before closing the file), to a multi-user, database-driven approach (which automatically saves changes as they are made).

The relational database implementation provides tremendous benefits, and is an integral part of the Synthesis Platform architecture and guiding philosophy of a continuous process driven by shared data and analyses across different activities and users. With integration into the Synthesis Platform, analyses and data are now saved automatically as you work in order to make the most up-to-date information available to all other applications, activities and users. 

So these applications no longer need a Save command, but they do offer many other flexible data management capabilities to help you accomplish your objectives. For example, if you used to rely on the ability to close a standalone file without saving recent changes, you will find that the new Restore Points feature in Synthesis applications provides similar functionality.

Within the context of Synthesis, the phrase "restore point" refers to an exact replica of a project at a particular point in time (i.e., a backup) that can be restored when and if it is needed. If you create a restore point before you start working on changes that you may wish to discard, this is functionally equivalent to having the option to close a project without saving it.

Here's how it works...

Create Restore Point Icon

You will be prompted to enter any notes that will later help you identify this stage in the analysis.

Restore Project

If you select the last restore point and choose Overwrite existing project, the software will automatically take the current project back to its prior state — just like closing a standalone file without saving it.

But this feature provides even more flexibility than the old standalone files because you can now choose to roll back to any saved restore point, and you also have the option to leave the current project unchanged while creating a new project that restores the selected backup.

To learn more, open any of the Synthesis application help files and navigate to Working in Synthesis > Managing and Restoring Data > Restore Points. (Or click here to see the topic in the Weibull++/ALTA help file...

 
ReliaSoft