<<< Back to Index
This Month's Article >>>

How can I deactivate a Version 8 Synthesis application on one computer before activating on another?

Unless you have an Unlimited User License, there is a limit to the number of computers on which a Version 8 Synthesis application can be activated at the same time with the same license key. For example, with a Single User License, you can activate the software on up to three computers simultaneously. (Click here for information about other license types.)

Therefore, if you decide to stop using the software on a particular computer, it is important to deactivate the application before you uninstall. This will make it possible for you to activate the application again on a different computer when you are ready.

To deactivate a Synthesis application:

  1. With the application open, choose File > Help and click the License Manager link.
  2. You will be prompted to enter your password but this is not required for the purposes of deactivation. You can click Cancel to proceed without it.
  3. Click the Deactivate button in the center of the License Manager window. You will be prompted to confirm. When you do, the application will immediately close and you will not be able to run it on this computer without activating again.

If you are no longer able to access the computer where the application was previously activated, please contact your license administrator (if you have a Concurrent Network License) or ReliaSoft’s technical support.

Deactivating a License

 
ReliaSoft